New Book Alert

This is for my book nerds.

Pastor Chris Durso released his new (and second) book called “The Heist: How Grace Robs Us Of Our Shame”, last week. It took me two days to finish this amazing book, I don’t think I have ever finished a book in two days by the way. The message that is communicated throughout the book was so refreshing to read.

I’m not going to get into details about the book because I want you to read it yourself. 🙂 But I’ll share some topics the book covered.

There are a lot of stories from the Bible mentioned in the book, but overall the message is based on the parable of the prodigal son.

img_1716img_1717

Whenever I hear “the prodigal son” I automatically imagine this scene from The Office, so I had to share it. Back to the book, I’m sure some of you reading this have heard or are familiar with that parable. If not, you can find it in Luke 15:11-32. It’s an amazing story about redemption and grace.

I love how in the book, Pastor Chris not only focuses on the prodigal son but also on his older brother and on the audience who is hearing this story. Overall, the message is about Grace and how no matter if you’re new to the faith or if you’ve been a believer for quite some time, we all need to not only receive Grace, but also extend it.

I think what I loved the most about this book was the message he is giving to the church. In chapter 9 of the book, you’ll find this paragraph; “The Father’s goal was to save the one who realizes he needs a Savior and to give grace to the one who thinks she’s been making all the right decisions. He wants to give us more grace when we fail, and He wants us to celebrate the one who returns home.” 

I could make a list of all the things this book talks about…shame, guilt, forgiveness, judgmental behavior, grace, etc. If you have never stepped into a church or its been awhile, I strongly recommend this book. If you basically live in church, I recommend this book to you as well. I hope you guys get a chance to read it soon! I’ll be making more blogs covering some books I’ve read, until next time!

 

Posted by

Hi. I'm Steph! Thank you for visiting my Blog. I like to post about things I like, current life situations, life lessons and some of my innermost thoughts. One of my greatest desires is to help people see the value they don't see in themselves. Hopefully by my blog I will be able to do that! 💕

Leave a Reply

