What’s attacking your identity? 

We live in a world that is constantly attacking our identity. Identity is so important to me, whenever we don’t have a firm foundation of who we are and what we stand for, it’ll be easy to go along with anything that comes in front of us. We listen to what other people say about us and allow them to give us a label we were never meant to have. When we walk around without knowing whose we are, it’s easy to allow people and things define us.

I live constantly reminding myself of who God says I am. There was a season in my life when this was very hard for me to do as I was battling with depression and low self esteem, I had to get into a discipline of taking every thought captive and making it obedient to Christ, (2 Corinthians 10:5).

I’m not even kidding, I wrote this verse on sticky notes and even set it as my iPhone and laptop wallpaper, it’s a verse that helped me stay grounded to God and His word. It was a reminder for me that not every thought that came to my mind was going to be good. I had to learn to dismiss the thoughts that said I wasn’t good enough, or that I messed up too much. So what are the things that constantly attack our identity? Below I’ve listed some identity attackers and verses that helped me along my journey.

1. The Enemy

“Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” 1 Peter 5:8 

I grew up in church, so that means I heard this verse every time a sermon was preached. The enemy loves to see us walking around without an identity, it’s his opportunity to strike. But, be watchful! He will show up, he always finds the perfect time too. He’ll come around when you’re feeling the most vulnerable. When he does, we have to be ready to fight against the lies he says about us. We were never meant to live a life in defeat. “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly” John 10:10 God welcomes us to live an abundant life, the enemy wants the opposite of that for you, so he’ll fill your mind with lies about yourself to keep you from experiencing all that God has for you.

2. Your past 

“Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:18-19 

You are not your past mistakes. What happened to you does not have to define you. Coming from an ex-pastors kid, I had a lot of trouble growing up not allowing my parents mistakes define me. There were times when I felt that what I went through disqualified me from being used by God. That all stoped when I decided to stop allowing my past tell me who I was, and accepted that God had great things in store for me. Don’t allow your past to label who you are. Romans 8:1 says, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus”. No condemnation. Living in the past stops us from stepping into the future God has for us. Allowing the guilt of sin to dwell in our hearts creates a wall that doesn’t allow us to experience God the way we should. God is not mad at you, he’s madly in love with you. So no matter what you’ve done in the past or even today, you’re forgiven and loved.

3. Others & Yourself

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His wonderful light”. 1 Peter 2:9 

In the end, we make the choice on what voice to listen to when it comes to our identity. I want you to understand how valuable you are. When you know your worth, a thought of being a failure might come to your mind but because you understand your value, you will dismiss it. The truth is that people will always have something to say about you, you will always have something to say about yourself, but what others say about you is not as important as what God says about you. When the feelings of insecurity come around remind yourself of who God says you are.

Posted by

Hi. I'm Steph! Thank you for visiting my Blog. I like to post about things I like, current life situations, life lessons and some of my innermost thoughts. One of my greatest desires is to help people see the value they don't see in themselves. Hopefully by my blog I will be able to do that! 💕

2 thoughts on “What’s attacking your identity? 

Leave a Reply

