It’s only temporary 

Do you ever have those days when you just don’t feel like doing life? I’m writing this after a long day, and I can’t tell you how much I wanted to press pause on everything that was going on today. In a previous post, I talked about memorizing scripture and how it is so important, especially when you’re facing a tough situation (or a long day) and you need to be reminded of the promises God has given you. Throughout my day I was reminded of a couple of scriptures that helped me get back on track. 

2 Corinthians 4:18 says, “While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal”. ‭‭It’s easy to get caught up in what we might be going through today, whatever it is, remind yourself that it is temporary. Seasons come and go, a day turns into night, so don’t fix your eyes on something that is going to come to an end. It sounds like an easy thing to do, but I’ve had times when I found this to be hard for me to do. 

One thing I’m so grateful for is peace. When we focus on God instead of what is going wrong, He gives us the strength to overcome any negative feeling or emotion that comes our way. He gives us peace. 

“You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3 

If you’re in a spot where you don’t feel peace, take a moment and ask yourself where your attention has been going to. What are your eyes fixed on? Here’s another question to reflect on, if your eyes aren’t fixed on God and His promises, are you really trusting Him?  

Our God is a loving father, he wants nothing but the best for us. If what you’re going through is a situation where you feel God is putting you through the fire or if it’s something you brought upon yourself (we do that sometimes), trust Him. Fix your eyes on what’s eternal, not on what is temporary. When your eyes are set on Him, you can trust that He will give you a peace that only He can give.

Posted by

Hi. I'm Steph! Thank you for visiting my Blog. I like to post about things I like, current life situations, life lessons and some of my innermost thoughts. One of my greatest desires is to help people see the value they don't see in themselves. Hopefully by my blog I will be able to do that! 💕

Leave a Reply

