Rest 

I always find it so hard to get out of bed in the mornings, once my feet hit the ground I have to be a responsible adult. There is no place I would rather be than in my bed, watching episodes of The Office or reading a good book. Unfortunately, life isn’t that sweet and I don’t get paid to do that, and if I did I would be SO rich! My mornings usually consist of me reading my devotional, making my green smoothie, putting on some really loud rap music and getting ready for the day.

Once I walk out the door, that’s another story. Life is so demanding sometimes, I know for me it can get pretty overwhelming. Something I’ve been really embracing lately is rest. Not the “I’m going to sleep until 1pm” rest, but the rest that says “no” to getting out of the house on some days. If you know me, you know I’m always doing something, my friends that have me on Snapchat are always claiming I go on “adventures”, which is kind of true although I never leave the Houston area (there’s so much to do here). Okay, so back to the whole rest thing. Over the past few weeks I have just enjoyed spending quiet time in my room. Life can be hard for me sometimes, working a full time job and having responsibilities can really get the best of me. There’s so much movement, so much noise, it’s nice to just quiet everything down.

It’s hard to hear from God when there’s so much going around. I like this new habit, I love enjoying God’s presence without having the distraction of people or my iPhone. I love hanging out with my friends, but sometimes you just have to say “No” to certain plans, not because you’re becoming antisocial, but because it’s healthy to be by yourself at times. Could it possibly be that you’re not hearing from God because you’re surrounded by too much noise? I don’t know about you, but I don’t want my life to be so loud that I miss hearing the voice of my creator. My quiet time with God helps me stay focused, it quiets my emotions, it quiets my thoughts that drive me crazy sometimes. It allows God to know I am ready to listen to whatever he wants to tell me. So much can come out of this, as I’m finishing this up I’m getting a notification that Steven Furtick just tweeted, “The place of isolation can become the place of revelation” (yes I do have notifications on for certain people). Maybe it’s confirmation that I need to post this now haha. Now, go get some rest! 

Posted by

Hi. I'm Steph! Thank you for visiting my Blog. I like to post about things I like, current life situations, life lessons and some of my innermost thoughts. One of my greatest desires is to help people see the value they don't see in themselves. Hopefully by my blog I will be able to do that! 💕

Leave a Reply

